THE MOST MISUNDERSTOOD RULES IN GOLF

MYTH: A golfer who is off the green must play a shot before a golfer who is on the green.

FACT: The player farthest from the hole, regardless of position, is always entitled to play first. So if a golfer has 50-foot putt while another golfer is facing a 5-yard chip, the golfer on the green is entitled to play first. Note, there is no penalty for playing out of order. However, in match play, you can be made to replay your shot by your opponent if you don’t wait your turn.

MYTH: A ball that is touched and falls off the tee after it has been addressed counts as a stroke.

FACT: In most cases, it doesn’t count as a stroke and the ball should be re-teed without penalty. It counts as a stroke if the ball already was in play (if you whiffed on your first attempt, for example), or if you were making a stroke at the time the ball fell off the tee.

Prev1 of 9Next

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *